Positive update after Pirates goalkeeper hijacking scare

Last week, shocking news came to light reporting that Pirates goalkeeper Melusi Buthelezi had been hijacked and ‘kidnapped’.

The incident apparently occurred while the Pirates was driving in Thokoza, but thankfully it was later confirmed that he had come out of the ordeal unscathed.

Buthelezi is now back with the Buccaneers squad, and is apparently in good spirits despite the frightening incident.

“I think it’s a very sensible thing, the club has already announced or communicated an opinion and statement or will do it soon about the issue. But what I can tell you that he’s back, he’s okay, he’s fit,” said Pirates head coach Jose Riveiro.

“He’s in a safe space with us and that’s what we try to create, I’m not talking about security I’m talking about mental health so we’re trying, especially his teammates are trying to help him to be back 100% and as a coach, what I can tell you is that he’s looking good.

“He’s positive and he’s trying to turn the page, move forward, we’re here for him and trying to help him as much and as good as possible.”

Buthelezi has been at Pirates since the beginning of the 2023/24 DStv Premiership season, and became a key member of the squad very quickly – particularly while Sipho Chaine was out injured.

Pirates goalkeeper Melusi Buthelezi has been a victim of serious crime before

While still at TS Galaxy, Buthelezi was also the victim of a hijacking incident while travelling with his brother and suffered stab wounds in 2022.

Both siblings had to be hospitalised, with Melusi’s brother particularly suffering serious injuries.

Other notable incidents

Last year, Pirates winger Vincent Pule also spoke out about a hijacking and hostage incident.

“I went to the petrol station to buy bread. After getting bread and an energy drink I went to the car and when I arrived at the car I could feel there was someone behind me,” Pule revealed on the show.

“After opening the door, someone grabbed me and told me to come with him and when they took me I asked them to leave my partner and child alone. They took me and put me in their car and they drove around with me for the whole night.”

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

source https://www.soccer2day.co.za/2024/03/05/positive-update-after-pirates-goalkeeper-hijacking-scare/

Leave a comment