Sundowns find the new Percy Tau?

Mamelodi Sundowns supporters were left very excited on Sunday night. A new kid has arrived.

Kabo Yellow have introduced a few young attackers since Tau left for Brighton & Hove Albion in 2018. We’ve seen the likes of Promise Mkhuma, Keletso Makgalwa, Jerome Karelse, and Siyabonga Mabena touted as the next “Lion Judah”, but not quite yet.

MAMELODI SUNDOWNS 2-0 MARITZBURG

A late brace from Thembinkosi Lorch was enough to book the final eight spot.

“I want to thank the man above for the challenge that he gave me, and I’ll promise that I’ll honour it,” Lorch told SuperSport TV.

“The coach was hard on me during the week for me not scoring the goals, I’m getting the balls but I’m not shooting enough and he was hard on me.

“I’m happy today, I managed to score two goals,” the Sundowns superstar added.

“I would like to them [fans] for welcoming me to the team, I’d like to thank the coach for being patient with me,” he added.

“It wasn’t easy for me, coming from Pirates to Sundowns. I had to settle in and thanks to the guys,” the Sundowns attacker concluded.

COACH RULANI MOKWENA PLAYS KUTLWANO LETLHAKU

The newest Sundowns attacker was introduced on Sunday night at the Lucas Moripe Stadium. The 17-year-old Letlhaku came during the Nedbank Cup last 16 game against Maritzburg United. Coach Rulani Mokwena gave him the nod after an impressive 15 goal-contributions in 20 games for the DStv Diski Challenge team.

The former School of Excellence attacker looked comfortable and assured on the ball before creating an assist for Thembinkosi Lorch’s second goal as Sundowns won 2-0.

YOUNGEST DEBUTANTS IN YELLOW

So where does Letlhlaku rank among the Sundowns’ young age records on debut? His DDC teammate, Mabena, still carries the record.

  1. Siyabonga Mabena, 16, forward 
  2. Siyanda Xulu, 17, central defender
  3. Kutlwano Letlhlaku, 17, forward
  4. Ntandoyenkosi Nkosi, 18, midfielder
  5. Doctor Mampuru, 18, right-back
  6. Percy Tau, 19, forward
  7. Thando Buthelezi, 19, Central midfielder
  8. Promise Mkhuma, 20, forward
  9. Robyn Johannes, 20, central defender
  10. Jackson Mabokgwane, goalkeeper, 20.

Moving on, a large group of Sundowns players will be flocking to international camps for the FIFA series. Bafana Bafana will play two friendlies against Andorra and Algeria.

Sundowns’ next game will be at the end of the month. The African Football League champions will travel to East Africa. Kabo Yellow will take on Young Africans of Tanzania in the CAF Champions League quarterfinals first leg on Saturday, 30 March.

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

source https://www.soccer2day.co.za/2024/03/18/sundowns-find-the-new-percy-tau/

Leave a comment