“It was like copy and paste, wow!”: Federico Macheda opens up on Kobbie Mainoo’s similar Man United goal – Man United News And Transfer News


Former Manchester United forward Federico Macheda has had his say on Kobbie Mainoo’s strike against Liverpool on Sunday, which has drawn astonishing parallels to his own winning strike vs. Aston Villa in 2009.

United played out a 2-2 draw at Old Trafford against Jurgen Klopp’s men. The Red Devils’ goals were grabbed by Bruno Fernandes and Mainoo – both were spectacular finishes in their own respect and helped the team salvage a valuable point and put a significant dent in Liverpool’s title ambitions in the process.

For Mainoo’s goal, United broke up the pitch before Aaron Wan-Bissaka passed the ball to the 18-year-old inside the Liverpool box. He managed to produce a stunning turn and expertly curl the ball into the top corner, leaving supporters agog.

The teenager’s goal has since been widely compared to Macheda’s famous last-minute winner for United against Aston Villa in 2009. On that occasion, 15 years ago, United were 2-1 down vs. Villa and were in desperate need of a victory to remain at the helm of the Premier League standings. Wayne Rooney was suspended and Dimitar Berbatov was injured for the clash. Sir Alex Ferguson brought on 17-year-old Macheda for his senior debut to slot into an attacking line also consisting of Cristiano Ronaldo and Carlos Tevez.

Ronaldo restored parity after 80 minutes. In the 90th minute and with time quickly elapsing, Macheda received the ball from Ryan Giggs, performed a backheel, turned and then fired his effort into the back of Brad Friedel’s net. The finish put United back at the top of the table.

Like Mainoo, Macheda and his more senior teammates broke into wild celebration. So similar were the two goals that the United social media team created a mirror montage comparing them.

Now at Ankaragucu in Turkey, Macheda spoke to The Athletic and gave his verdict. He said, “It was like a copy and paste and I just thought ‘Wow!’ Same position, almost same shot. It was very, very similar. I still watch United and this guy (Kobbie Mainoo) has been outstanding. Nobody expected it, but to come from the youth at 18 years old and perform as he does is unbelievable. He plays like he’s been in the first team for five years. Man United have got a very good player.”

“I also came from the youth system but my circumstances were totally different. I wanted this, but he is in a team which is not as strong as when I was there. I wanted to play every week but I had Cristiano (Ronaldo), (Carlos) Tevez, (Wayne) Rooney, (Dimitar) Berbatov and Danny Welbeck ahead of me. It was a crazy attack. How could any teenager break into the team with these guys?”

The 32-year-old added about his goal, “People still ask me about it all the time. I understand why people see me as the guy who scored one important goal but I don’t see me like that. Of course it was a great moment and my friends in Rome were calling me crying. My life completely changed. Even now I remember details that I’ve not told anyone, like me crying in the dressing-room showers as all the emotion came out from what had just happened.”

Macheda told the newspaper that while he was on the bench, he was actually supporting Villa and wanted them to win because that meant he would be afforded the chance to get on the pitch and play for United – this was his ultimate objective.

After Villa scored their second, an angry Ferguson summoned him and instructed him to get changed as he was about to make his debut for the club.

On his thought process for the goal, Macheda divulged, “I was f***ed!” he says. “I’d run like a happy dog for 20 minutes. They wanted more from me. But they weren’t my usual team-mates. They were the first team. I didn’t really know them, I’d only trained with them for two days.”

“I thought I was fit but I was running forward and I couldn’t breathe,” explains Macheda. “I was so tired. Neville passed to me and I tried to turn but lost the ball. It went to Giggsy (Ryan Giggs). My back was against the goal, I couldn’t really do anything.”

“I tried a crazy backheel but then I turned and shot. It was instinct; I wasn’t even looking at the goal, but I knew I’d hit it well — I knew that as soon as I raised my head and saw the ball going towards goal.”

The 32-year-old noted that he immediately ran towards his family and loved ones in the stands but he didn’t make much progress as he was pulled to the floor by an ecstatic Darren Fletcher. Eventually, his teammates released him from a tight embrace and he proceeded to hug his father who was very emotional.

Macheda also noted that Fergie congratulated him and struggled to believe what had happened.

After the Villa game, the Carrington academy graduate and his family went back home and were bogged down by multiple phone calls from friends and loved ones. Eventually, they all decided to go out to an Italian restaurant in Manchester to celebrate the achievement.


Want to be the first to hear breaking Man United news? For carefully selected, crucial updates, join our WhatsApp channel: https://bit.ly/United-Breaking-News.

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

source https://www.soccer2day.co.za/2024/04/10/it-was-like-copy-and-paste-wow-federico-macheda-opens-up-on-kobbie-mainoos-similar-man-united-goal-man-united-news-and-transfer-news/

Leave a comment