‘Orlando Pirates never showed Lorch this love’

Thembinkosi Lorch lifted his first trophy with Mamelodi Sundowns following his suprise move from Orlando Pirates.

The former Buccaneers star completed a shock deadline day transfer from Orlando to Chloorkop earlier this year.

While his move came under scrutiny, Lorch already has five goals and two assists in his Sundowns account, silencing many of his critics.

Mamelodi Sundowns were declared DStv Premiership champions on Thursday evening after hammering Kaizer Chiefs 5-1.

Less than four months in, and the diminutive winger lifted his first league title to date. Take a look at some of the fan reactions to Lorch’s maiden crown below.

‘Orlando Pirates never showed Lorch this love’

“I knew when I came here that the first thing is to win the league. I’ve won other cups, but I’ve never won the league title before. I’m happy and I’m very grateful for the opportunity,” Thembinkosi Lorch told SundownsTV as quoted by FarPost.

Lorch forever grateful to Irvin Khoza

The speedy winger scored 34 goals for Orlando Pirates while assisting 30 more. In total, Lorch made 176 appearances for the Soweto giants.

Lorch joined the Buccaneers from Maluti FET college in 2013. He also spent two seasons out on loan from the Buccaneers at Cape Town Allah Stars and Chippa United respectively.

“I remember I signed for Pirates when I was 22 years old. I [just] left [as a] 30-year-old. So I’m therefore grateful for the opportunity that he [Khoza] gave me. Orlando Pirates will always have a special place in my heart,” Lorch said following his move in January, as quoted by Sowetan.

“Also, I want to thank the president of Sundowns [Tlhopie Motsepe] for believing in me and bringing me here. I’m looking forward to giving my best for this team, that’s all I can say.”

CLICK HERE TO READ MORE STORIES BY Zaahid Nanabhay.

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

source https://www.soccer2day.co.za/2024/05/04/orlando-pirates-never-showed-lorch-this-love/

Leave a comment